Call for PapersConference ScopeProgramRegistrationTravelHotels

Thursday, 4th October:

08:00 – 09:30 Registration

09:30 – 09:45 Welcome, Introducing

09:45 – 10:45 Key Note Talk by Berry Schoenmakers

10:45  - 11:00 Coffee

11:00 – 12:30  First Session: Improvements/Extensions of existing Approaches
                                            (session chair: Hugo Jonker)

    • Simulation-based analysis of E2E voting systems
      (Olivier de Marneffe, Olivier Pereira and Jean-Jacques Quisquater)
    • A simple technique for safely using Punchscan and Prêt à Voter in mail-in elections  (Stefan Popoveniuc and David Lundin)
    • Threat analysis of a practical voting scheme with receipts
      (Sebastien Foulle, Steve Schneider, Jacques Traore and Zhe Xia)

12:30 – 14:00 Lunch

14:00 – 15:30 Second Session: Overview on Remote Electronic Voting
                                              (session chair: Roland Vogt)

    • The Development of Remote E-Voting around the World: A Review of Roads and Directions
      (Robert Krimmer, Stefan Triessnig and Melanie Volkamer)
    • Remote voting schemes: A comparative analysis
      (Jordi Puiggali and Victor Morales)
    • Internet-Voting: Opportunity or Threat for Democracy?
      (Emmanuel Benoist, Bernhard Anrig and David-Olivier Jaquet-Chiffelle)

 15:30 – 16:00 Coffee

 16:00 – 17:30 Third Session: Evaluation of Electronic Voting Systems 
                                            (session chair: Robert Krimmer)

    • Assessing Procedural Risks and Threats in e-Voting: Challenges and an Approach
      (Adolfo Villafiorita, Komminist Weldemariam and Andrea Mattioli)
    • Compliance of RIES to the proposed e-Voting Protection Profile
      (Hugo Lennaert Jonker and Melanie Volkamer)
    • Compliance of Polyas to the Protection Profile for Remote Electronic Voting (Kai Reinhard and Wolfgang Jung) 

20:00 Social Event.

Conference Dinner at Livingroom ( Luisenstr. 9-13, Bochum


Friday, 5th October:

 09:00 – 10:00 Fourth Session: Code Voting
                                              (session chair: David Lundin)

    • Secure Internet Voting With Code Sheets
      Jörg Helbach and Jörg Schwenk)
    • Code Voting - Protection Against Automatic Vote Manipulation in an Uncontrolled Environment
      (Rui Joaquim and Carlos Ribeiro)

 10:00 – 10:30 Coffee

 10:30 – 12:00 Fifth Session: Electronic Voting in Different Countries
                                           (session chair: tbc)

    • Electronic Voting in Belgium: Past and Future
      (Danny De Cock and Bart Preneel)
    • The Digital Voting Pen at the Hamburg Elections 2008: Electronic Voting Closest to Conventional Voting
      (Jörg Arzt-Mergemeier, Willi Beiss and Thomas Steffens)
    • The Security Analysis of e-voting in Japan
      (Hiroki Hisamitsu and Keiji Takeda)

12:00 – 13:30 Lunch

 13.30 – 14:30 Sixth Session: E-Voting and Trust
session chair: Klaus Brunstein)

    • Bingo Voting: Secure and coercion-free voting using a trusted random number generator
      (Jens-Matthias Bohli, Jörn Müller-Quade and Stefan Röhrich)
    • Enhancing the trust and perceived security in e-cognocracy
      (Joan Josep Piles Contreras, José Luis Salazar Riaño, José Ruíz Más and José María Moreno-Jiménez)

 14:30 – 14:45 Coffee

 14:45 – 16:00 Panel Discussion (session chair: Ammar Alkassar)

-      Klaus Brunnstein (University of Hamburg, Germany)

-      Hans van Wijk (NEDAP, the Netherlands)

-      Robert Stein (Head of election division, Federal Ministry of Interior, Austria)


 16:00 End of  event.